Members 1st Assembly


Hon. David Mwangi Mugo

Speaker of the First Assembly

Hon. Joel G. Maina

Deputy Speaker Karatina Ward

Hon. Anthony .M. Kibuu

Majority Leader Gatitu/Muruguru Ward

Hon. Fredrick .K. Ndiritu

Minority Leader, Ruguru Ward

Hon. James .K. Thieri

Majority Whip,Gikondi Ward

Elected Members

Hon. Johnson G Njoroge

Rugi Ward

Hon. John N Mwangi

Kamakwa Mukaro Ward

Hon. John M Kireru

Mahiga Ward

Hon. Stephen M Munuhe

Thegu River

Hon. Jesse M Kamuri

Wamagana Ward

Hon. James K. Muchiri

Iriani-Mathira Ward

Hon. Simon .M. Kiragu

Rware Ward

Hon. Hudson G Chege

Mukurwe-ini Central Ward

Hon. George B Mutahi

Kiganjo Mathari Ward

Hon. Antony M Kanyiri

Mweiga Ward

Hon. Duncan G Kiara

Kabaru Ward

Hon. David N Wangai

Iriani-Othaya Ward

Hon. Bernard M. Kinga

Gatarakwa Ward

Hon. Arthur M Wachira

Konyu Ward

Hon. John .N. Wambugu

Mugunda Ward

Hon. Amos N Kanyai

Gakawa Ward

Hon. Peter .M. Kamau

Mwiyogo-Endarasha Ward

Hon. Edward .M. Ndiritu

Ruringu Ward

Hon. Bernard .M. Mwangi

Mukurwe-ini West Ward

Hon. James .K. Ngunyi

Kirimukuyu Ward

Hon. Paul .M. Ngiria

Chinga Ward

Hon. Peter .K. Kario

Magutu Ward

Hon. Rinyiru .M. Ringera


Hon. Stephen Mwaniki

Dedan Kimathi Ward

Hon. George M. Gichuki

Karima Ward

Nominated Members

Hon. Virginia M Waruta


Hon. Salome W Kago


Hon. Nancy W Gachichio


Hon. Lucy Nyaguthie


Hon. Leah W Wachira


Hon. Keziah Waruinu


Hon. Josephine M Mureithi


Hon. Jecinta Wambui Wamae


Hon. Elizabeth W Njeeh


Hon. Anastacia W Njukia


Hon. Regina W. Macharia


Hon. Joseph K King’ori


Hon. Lucy Wanyitu


Hon. Eva .M. Githaiga


Hon. Salima Uledi


Hon. Zipporah .W. Njithi


Hon. Mary Muraguri


Contact Us

Mon – Fri: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

Facebook Live Feed

SECTORAL COMMITTEES CONDUCT VETTING FOR THE CHIEF OFFICERS NOMINEES!The County Assembly of Nyeri Sectoral Committees yesterday conducted approval hearings for the 8 Chief Officers Nominees forwarded to the Assembly by Nyeri Governor H.E Mutahi Kahiga. 1. Lucy Ndumba Kiogora- Governor’s Office2. James Gichuki Kiretai- Education3. Wilson Kiiru Maringa- Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries4. Mercy Wanjiku Ngacha- Economic and Planning5. Benard Kiama Kariuki- Water and Irrigation 6. Joel Mwai Gethi- Gender and Social Services7. Adan Edin Ibrahim- Health Services8. Joseph Kanyi King’ori- County Public Service and AdministrationThe Committees will subsequently compile reports on the suitability of Nominees and table them before the Honourable House for adoption. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
VETTING PROCEEDINGS PLEASE BE NOTIFIED.The County Assembly of Nyeri Committees will vet 8 Nominees for appointment as Chief Officers today 20th March, 2023 at the County Assembly as per the attached schedule. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
VETTING PROCEEDINGS PLEASE BE NOTIFIED.The County Assembly of Nyeri Committees will vet 8 Nominees for appointment as Chief Officers tomorrow 20th March, 2023 at the County Assembly as per the attached schedule. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
TRADE COMMITTEE SITE VISIT TO CHAKA MARKETThe County Assembly of Nyeri Committee on Trade & Co-operatives Development Chaired by Iria-ini Ward MCA (Mathira) Hon. David Kabatha conducted a site visit to Chaka Market with an aim to address various challenges facing the traders. Key among them was a concern raised by Thegu- River Ward MCA Hon. Patrick Kanyi seeking its intervention over lack of a sign board directing the customers/ motorists into Chaka market. Hon. Kanyi noted that the traders in Chaka Market have a conducive environment to sell their goods and services. However, their efforts to effectively sell their goods have been fruitless due to lack of a sign post indicating direction as well as guiding the customers and therefore called upon the Trade Committee to deliberate on the matter and ensure a signboard is erected to guide the customers. The Committee will soon compile a report on the various challenges faced by the traders and table its recommendations before the Honourable House. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook
SITE VISIT TO IDENTIFY THE CAUSE OF LAND DISPUTE BETWEEN KABENDERA PUBLIC NURSERY SCHOOL AND DIOCESE OF NYERI TRUSTEES. The County Assembly Committee on Physical Planning, Housing and Urbanization Chaired by Rware Ward MCA Hon. Simon Mbogo conducted a site visit to Kabendera Public Nursery school in Mugunda Ward with an aim to resolve the land dispute between parents of Kabendera public Nursery school and the Diocese of Nyeri Trustees.The site visit was prompted by a petition presented before the County Assembly of Nyeri by parents of Kabendera Public Nursery School and Kabendera Community seeking the interventions of the House to investigate the unclear re- allocation of plot no. Gatarakwa/ GatarakwaBlk 1/199 belonging to Kabendera Public Nursery School and to have the land returned to the rightful owner.In their prayer, the petitioners noted that the aforementioned land has been reserved for Kabendera Public Nursery School since 1987 and that a land search conducted sometime in the year 2000 can confirm the same with the registered owner being the Government of Kenya. Their major bone of contention is that on 10th December, 2020, the aforementioned land was acquired by the Diocese of Nyeri Trustees and a Title Deed was subsequently issued on 14th December, 2020 under very unclear circumstances. They also noted that a land search conducted on 11th January, 2021 indicates that the land changed ownership to the Diocess of Nyeri Trustees.The Committee on Physical planning will soon hold a consultative meeting with the Diocese of Nyeri Trustees in order to facilitate open dialogue, Identify the root of the problem and subsequently table a report with its recommendations before the House. ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook

Get County Assembly Newsletter

The latest Nyeri County Assembly Newsletter sent straight to your inbox every month.

County Assembly of Nyeri © 2023. All Rights Reserved